[Webinar] Hot Topics in ESG and Energy Law – The Singapore Experience
[Webinar] Hot Topics in ESG and Energy Law – The Singapore Experience
 
10 February 2022, 3pm - 5pm SGT / 2pm - 4pm ICT
Zoom Webinar

[Webinar] Hot Topics in ESG and Energy Law – The Singapore Experience

10 February 2022,  3pm - 5pm SGT / 2pm - 4pm ICT

Overview

Singapore is embracing the potential of Environmental, Social and Governance criteria as it sets increasing targets in sustainable development. This can be seen particularly in the fields of energy law, where the energy transition to renewables and clean energy across the entire region raises both challenges and opportunities in the ESG space. Singapore is a thought leader that pushes the envelope of soft infrastructure to support rapid development, and it is exciting to see the vibrancy and growth which has primed Vietnam to become Asia’s green energy powerhouse.

Join our panellists, Shemane Chan, Chua Tju Liang and Jonathan Lin, as well as chairperson Kelvin Teo, as they navigate this new frontier and share lessons learnt from the Singapore Experience. 

  • Tju Liang will speak about blockchain Renewable Energy Credit (REC) projects, and the opportunities and challenges for the REC market in Singapore; the new EMA standard in Singapore for RECs; and Singapore’s potential to become a regional hub for the REC market. 
  • Jonathan will speak about the electricity spot market in Singapore, and the challenges and potential issues that have arisen from renewable energy that could arise in the auction system that is going to be used in Vietnam.
  • Shemane will speak about her experience and expertise in front-end floating solar EPC projects from the Singapore perspective, which will touch on some of the less common aspects in those deals.
  • Kelvin Teo will chair the question and answer session. 

This session presents an opportunity for legal practitioners from Singapore and Vietnam to share their diverse experiences and expertise, and at the same time learn from one another.
 

Programme
 

2.45pm SGT / 1.45pm ICT

 
Participants to log in

 
3.00pm SGT / 2.00pm ICT

 
Introductory Remarks
by Mr Kelvin Teo, Director, Dispute Resolution, Drew & Napier LLC
 
3.10pm SGT / 2.10pm ICT
 
Blockchain Renewable Energy Credit (REC) projects
by Mr Chua Tju Liang, Director & Head, Blockchain & Digital Assets, Drew & Napier LLC
 
3.35pm SGT / 2.35pm ICT

 
Electricity spot market in Singapore & potential issues in the auction system in Vietnam
by Mr Jonathan Lin, Partner, Corporate & Commercial, Allen & Gledhill LLP
 
4.05pm SGT / 3.05pm ICT

 
Front-end floating solar EPC projects 
by Ms Shemane Chan, Partner, Rajah & Tann Singapore LLP
 
4.30pm SGT / 3.30pm ICT

 
Question & Answer 
moderated by Mr Kelvin Teo, Director, Dispute Resolution, Drew & Napier LLC
 
5.00pm SGT / 4.00pm ICT

 
End of webinar

 

Please note that this session does not carry any CPD points.

 

Brochure

Please click here to view the brochure.
 

Registration Fee

This webinar is free. Click here to register.
 

Learning Partners

Learning Partners
 

For enquiries regarding this event, please email [email protected].